A Celebration of Life, Love, and Happiness

For those of you who have yet to meet me, or may not know me super well, I work as a photographer in addition to serving as a college counselor at a private school here in Atlanta.  I was fortunate enough to be born with many passions, and since we really only have the here and now to count on, I like to maximize my life.  Every now and then though, I believe in some good reflection.  Life is about balance, and being wise enough to understand when it is time to slow down, relax, and count all your incredible blessings.  For me right now, those seem to be flowing pretty abundantly.  With our one year anniversary fast approaching, my husband and I decided that it was time for a slow down.  Caught up in the craziness of life these past 11 months since our wedding day, there have been a few bumps but oh so many ups, and we just knew it was time.  It was time to stop and take stock of our lives, and give thanks for all that we are blessed with and all that we have been given.  Our favorite place or space to do this almost always revolves around the water.  Using the very last of my husband’s airline miles, and chipping away at the dent in our Marriott points, we packed up our bags, didn’t tell anyone where we were going, and alas- wound up in one of our favorite places on earth.

We spent seven nights in a place that has felt like home to us from the very first moment we ever set foot here.  We got married here, we dreamed up our photography business here, and who knows, maybe we’ll someday make the switch to an 808 area code ourselves.  Until then, we visit, we dream, and we make a sincere effort to truly remember the memories while we are making them.   As such, we both try extremely hard to keep our professional lives out of the journey.  We turn our cell phones to airplane mode, and I rely solely on my iPhone if I’d like to take photos (I feel like a normal person this way!).   Since my camera equipment mostly reminds me of my work, it’s rare I’ll pull it out from its storage area in my hotel dresser… but alas, every now and then, I just have to pull out my Nikon and  capture my little pieces of Hawaiian paradise.

Sharing just a few pics with you below, may they serve as your reminder for today to stop, breathe, and take stock of your life.  Despite all the problems we have (and we think we have), we really are quite lucky.  Always remember to fall in love with your life.  If you can do it daily, you are living life abundantly, for you then can truly understand and appreciate all the blessings that surround you.

DSC_0151

DSC_0163

DSC_0111 DSC_0145DSC_0161

DSC_0146DSC_0165 DSC_0166

DSC_0164 DSC_0167 DSC_0168

DSC_0170 DSC_0173 DSC_0184 DSC_0195 DSC_0196 DSC_0204

DSC_0232 DSC_0233 DSC_0210 DSC_0231 DSC_0236 DSC_0246 DSC_0252

DSC_0294 DSC_0304 DSC_0311 DSC_0324 DSC_0332

The majority of these photographs were taken on the road that extends after the infamous town of Hana.  Many tourists take the road to Hana, and then make the turnaround to head back.  Every time we have taken this journey, we make sure to follow the road entirely around the island (though, don’t tell our rental car agency this!).  What lies ahead on that road is the most beautiful vast expansion of land and ocean views, it’s truly breathtaking.  You pass cows on the road, ancient burial grounds here and there, and for us, we found the most gorgeous monk seals resting down on Homoa Beach.  It’s just another road to the locals I am sure, but for me, it’s my beautiful reminder to breathe in the world and remember the good that truly is all around us.

Today, I feel refreshed, in love with my life, and excited for all the incredible opportunities ahead.  Mahalo Maui. You always know how to do this to me.

Bonus iPhoto footage below… 😉

IMG_6279

This was perhaps thee most delicious piece of pie either of us had ever eaten!  IMG_6338IMG_6605 IMG_6606

IMG_6601

If you are planning your own trip to Maui, or perhaps your own wedding, honeymoon, or anniversary trip, here are a few of our favorite things:

1.) The local flower section of Safeway.  I am convinced that there is no other supermarket in America with such fresh, lush, and beautiful tropical flowers at such inexpensive prices.  We actually did our own flowers at our wedding and they came out just as beautiful as I had always imagined.

2.) Clearly as this post indicates, if you are an adventurer or just someone that likes a good soul refreshing, drive the Road to Hana.  Stop for macadamia nut pie in Hana, and then plow forward.  Do not turn back to the familiar path behind you, explore the road ahead.  Stop on the windy cliffs, crack open a Longboard, and laugh at life.  Laugh so loud, smile so big, remember every moment.

3.) Watch a sunset from the Wailea Beach Marriott.  Our hotel of choice, we may be a bit biased, but to sit on the lawn chairs in your own little outpost on the black lava rock cliffs and watch the sun dip down behind the island of Molokai, it is truly one of the most breathtaking sites.  You really will not believe you are in America.

4.) Visit Olowalu Plantation House.  Yes, again with the bias as this is the site of where we got married, but there is the most breathtaking rock jetty that juts out into the ocean.  I still remember my first time walking down into what felt like the middle of this gorgeous ocean… I was content in that walk, and then… I turned around.  Behind you will lie the most breathtaking views of the gorgeous mountains and the beautiful sea.  We had our wedding photographs taken out here, and I still get asked if I’m sure that our photos weren’t taken in front of some Sears backdrop.  Bring a tripod to take a photo of your family, or you and your spouse… it’s worth it.

5.) Eat at Aloha Mixed Plate.  Drink one of the 32+ beers on tap at 28 degrees at Monkeypod Kitchen.  Get to know a local.  Inquire about life in Maui.  Go sailing.  Swim with a sea turtle.  Roll every single window down for every drive.  Visit every single beach.  Learn and understand and practice the spirit of Aloha.

And absolutely, most of all…. Unplug.  Get off of your computers and iPads, and turn off your phones (airplane mode works wonders).  Immerse yourself into the beauty of this island, and for the time you are there, feel how you truly belong.

www.adriennelampephotography.com

Leave a comment